The state of Alaska mandates that all drivers and vehicle owners must carry with them proof of owning liability insurance at all times. The insurer must provide vehicle owners and drivers with a card that indicates that you own the correct policy.
The average insurance premium in Alaska is $1455. If you are caught driving without insurance, you may be liable to hefty fines and loss of driving privileges and vehicle registration.
Alcohol-related accidents are a major concern in Alaska. According to the U.S. Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), alcohol impairment contributed to 29 % of the fatalities in 2011 and to 25% of the total fatalities in 2012.
Driving under the influence (DUI) is a very serious charge. In Alaska, as with most U.S. states, you are considered legally drunk if your blood-alcohol content (BAC) is .08% or higher. If a driver is caught driving drunk, stringent penalties will be imposed. First time offenders will have to pay a fine up to $1500 which can increase to $10000 for repeat offenders and imprisonment of 3 days and can go up to one year for subsequent offences.
DUI convictions also have a direct impact on your insurance premiums. Insurers feel the need to increase your premium, since they consider you a high-risk driver. After your first DUI conviction, your premium could go up to $2706. For repeat offenders, this could be even higher. Taking a defensive driving course could reduce this number to $2300.
Most companies also increase your premium according to the surcharge schedule of the Insurance Services Office (ISO). In Alaska, your premium could increase to $1746 for the first two vehicles on a multi-car policy, and up to $2037 for a single-car policy.
Accidents also have an adverse impact on your premiums. A single accident that causes serious injuries or major property damage could raise your premiums to an amount between $2183 and $2910 after your next policy renewal.