Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!

Utah’s drunk driving laws and auto insurance after a DUI

Your friends might not let you dial or tweet drunk, but your real friends are the ones who will not let you drive drunk. The state does its part to discourage drunk driving by enforcing strict DUI laws, starting with sending you to jail for 2 days for your first offense. A second DUI lands you in jail for 10 days. Your third DUI is considered a felony. In Utah, DUIs stay on your record for 10 years.  According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), there were 54 alcohol-impaired driving fatalities in Utah in 2011 and 34 such fatalities in 2012.

Apart from the legal consequences, you also have to deal with higher insurance rates. Insurance rates are likely to remain high for years after your first DUI conviction. Let’s see just how much a single DUI conviction can affect your insurance rates.

At $1436, Utah’s average annual insurance rate is just below the national average as of December 2013. Most cities in Utah, however, have an average annual premium rate ranging from $1051 to $1290.

City Zip code Average Annual Insurance Rate ($)
St. George 84770 1,051
Layton 84040 1,091
Provo 84604 1,187
Sandy 84093 1,188
Orem 84097 1,199
Salt Lake City 84111 1,238
West Jordan 84084 1,257
Taylorsville 84084 1,257
West Valley City 84120 1,290

A single alcohol-related offense in West Valley City would increase your annual premium to $2,399. In Taylorsville too, a DUI would increase your annual premium to $2338. That’s a difference of more than $1,000 every year.

If you are convicted of a DUI, you could take a defensive driving course to reduce your premium. It might make you a better driver, as well as help you lower your insurance premiums. In Salt Lake City, a defensive driving course could help you bring your premium down to $1958 from $2303. In Sandy, a DUI would bring your premium up to $2210, and a defensive driving course could help you lower it to $1879.

Utah Auto Insurance Rates

Below are the minimum, average and maximum insurance rate estimates for neighbourhoods in and around Utah, UT.

Lowest Rate:$1000
Average Rate:$1400
Highest Rate:$2100

Recent Savings From Top Providers in Utah

Rank Customer Zipcode Amount Saved
1 84663 $332
2 84043 $325
3 84001 $323
4 84002 $321

Compare Auto Insurance Companies in Utah

Company A.M Best Rating on
Financial Strength
Year Founded
Progressive A+ 1937
State Farm A++ 1922
Allstate A+ 1931
GEICO A++ 1936
Farmers A 1925
Liberty Mutual A 1912
American Family A 1927

Utah Auto Insurance Requirements

Minimum limits of liability for auto insurance in Utah as per UT State Laws

Bodily Injury Liability

  • $25,000 for death/injury of any one person, per accident.
  • $65,000 for all persons per accident.

Property Damage Liability

  • $15,000 per accident.

Utah Car Insurance Average Rates by Make

In addition to the location, one key factor that contributes to the insurance rates in Utah is the vehicle's make and model. Especially the vehicle's theft rates in Utah

MakeInsurance Average PremiumView Details
MakeInsurance Average PremiumView Details

Write Your Review & Save Money

Learn from people in your town & neighborhood on what coverage they have & who they close & how they saved money

Latest Auto Insurance Reviews

Related Links for Auto Insurance Alabama